“No magic will enable me to reap the physical and mental rewards of an active life”

Fra Fiona Gunn vinner av adventskalender 2014Guest blog: Fiona Gunn, winner of Advent Calendar 2014

Eight weeks on from our fabulous two week holiday in Norway, I sometimes have to pinch myself and ask, “Did that really happen?”

I was very privileged to win the CERG 2014 Advent calendar trip to Norway. My son, Eddie and I spent tow weeks travelling by train, plane, ship, car and ferry, through Oslo, Bergen, Trondheim and the Lofoten Islands, during the Norwegian summer. Being a New Zealander, I did wonder if I was going to see a larger version of the beautiful scenery that I am so used to seeing in New Zealand. There are similarities, however I struggle to find the words to describe the vast beauty of Norway.

Read also: Used to exercise to look like Daisy Duke

Breathtaking vistas showcasing glaciers, fjords, snowcapped graphite mountains, forests, beaches, lakes and rivers in awe inspiring proportions. Colourful fishing villages, Rorbuer’s (Fisherman’s Cabin) and wooden pitched-roof buildings dotted along coast lines, added to the magic of the spectacle. Seafood in abundance, and the good fortune of an out of season Northern Lights showing provided the ‘icing on the cake’ to this Norwegian extravaganza.

The sea and mountains in Lofoten

Read also: City smart in Brisbane

I did spend a day at the CERG research facilities based in NTNU (Norwegian University of Science and Technology), Trondheim. There, I met lots of extremely dedicated researchers – all committed to spreading the message ‘get active now’. Lesson learnt. I must take personal responsibility for an active life. There is no bad guy making it impossible for me to achieve, and there is no magic that will enable me to reap the physical and mental rewards of an active life, unless I put in the hard work myself and prioritise exercise. Somewhere, within my psyche, I have to continue to find the will power to stay active every day, week, month and every year of my life.

Fra Fiona Gunn vinner av adventskalender 2014 varmer opp til kondisjonstest

Read also: CERG´s Movember fitness program

The team at CERG, continue to promote the awareness of the benefits and importance of an active lifestyle. I am inspired by the information they provide and the positive outcomes that are apparent from their research. I want to thank the team at CERG for this opportunity, and for developing a consciousness within me and my family, and I want to publically commit myself to the constant pursuit of an active lifestyle.

The experience has been eye opening and the lessons learnt life changing. Love ya work CERG!!

Fiona Gunn, winner of Advent Calendar 2014

This entry was posted in Advent Calendar 2014, Exercise, In English and tagged , , , , , by CERG. Bookmark the permalink.

About CERG

The Cardiac Exercise Research Group (CERG) at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU) seeks to identify the key mechanisms underlying the beneficial effects of physical on cardiac health in the context of disease prevention and treatment. Named the K.G. Jebsen Center for Exercise in Medicine under Professor Ulrik Wisløff's leadership in 2011, CERG uses both top-down and bottom-up approaches to combat lifestyle-related disease.

Leave a Reply

